Photo by Freddy Castro on Unsplash

Current Opportunities:

•An award for emerging writers in the UK

•A new brand new storytelling prize from Nesta (found on the Creative Scotland website)

•A prize for unpublished writers in Scotland

Scroll down for details.

The Emerging Writer Award

Now Open

Established in 2015, the Emerging Writer Award (formerly the Bridge Award) is now in its fourth year, and is run by Moniack Mhor in partnership with The Bridge Awards, a philanthropic venture that has helped to fund theatre and visual arts projects.

The award winner receives a tailor-made package worth up to £2,000 including tuition via open courses, retreat time and/or mentoring.

The Emerging Writer Award is open to unpublished prose writers (fiction) living and working in the UK with a collection of short stories or novel in development. Writers can be writing for any age group (including children and young adults) and may have had excerpts or articles published in the past, but will have not yet published a major body of work. Poetry, Playwriting, Screenwriting and works of non-fiction are all ineligible.

To find out more, and to apply go to Moniack Mhor.

Image: Scarecrow (1935), Paul Klee
On a street in the Mexican War Streets neighbourhood of Pittsburgh I came across this wooden house. It's part of the City Of Asylum project to bring to Pittsburgh writers and artists from all over the globe, especially (I believe) the parts where being an artist is often precarious and sometimes very dangerous indeed. One of the artists who stayed in this house decorated it thus. I reckon it's a pretty good example of telling a story in an innovative, or at least different, way.



Deadline: 13 January 2020 at 00:00

Alternarratives is a £15,000 prize for UK writers to explore innovation in short-form storytelling.

We are looking for bold ideas in the future of cutting-edge storytelling, encouraging writers to think beyond the word document and use all the tools we have at our disposal to tell stories in new and exciting ways. In its pilot year, the prize will encourage storytellers to imagine how short-form fiction could help re-engage young people (aged 11-16) with the act of reading for pleasure. The opportunity is open to all UK-based writers aged 18 or over and we strongly encourage entries from non-YA writers. Entries are open until 13 January 2020.

We’re offering:
• 10 writers a £1,000 R&D bursary towards the realisation and development of a new or existing idea into a final work
• ideation workshops including innovation of form, future methods of storytelling and co-curation of best practice
• young people focus groups to discuss ideas, needs and motivations
• a £15,000 prize for one writer

Location: All Scotland ,England, Wales, Northern Ireland

For further information, please contact or visit

The deadline is Monday 13 January 2020 at 00:00.



For unpublished writers living or studying in Scotland – deadline: 29 February 2020.




Applicants for the Isobel Lodge Award should enter a story on any topic, up to 2000 words in the Scottish Arts Club Short Story Competition. To qualify applicants should be over 18 years by 1 October and living or studying in Scotland.

Applicants should tick relevant box on the entry form. There is no additional charge. Stories entered for the Isobel Lodge Award, will also be considered for the international prize of £1000. 

If you are an unpublished writer living in Scotland you may enter both competitions at the same time with the same story for no additional fee. You must be resident in Scotland at the time of entry and still resident in October 2020.

Writers may enter as many stories as they wish.

Go here for all the details, and to enter.

Image of James Baldwin from Brain Pickings.